The podium of the Formula 3 sprint race was obtained by the Italian Champion, the winner of the European Series and the winner of the rookie title of Formula Abarth 2011.
01/04/2012 - Patric Niederhauser (BVM), Formula ACI-CSAI Abarth reigning champion, Sergey Sirotkin (Euronova), reigning champion of Formula Abarth European Series and Gerard Barrabeig (Ghinzani) winner of the rookie title in Formula Abarth European Series 2011. This is the podium of the third race of the Italian Formula 3 European Series that confirms the value of the smaller formula of the Federation.

Patric Niederhauser set off from the pole position and exploited the new tyres saved during the two first races. Sergey Sirotkin did the same placing his bet on the third race of the weekend. The choice made by the driver of BVM and that of Euronova paid off and the couple managed to pull away right after the start and manage their race afterwards. Niederhauser has been great while keeping the Moscow driver at bay and the duel often seen last year in Formula Abarth was not repeated in this occasion.

Third was the Catalan driver of Ghinzani, Gerard Barrabeig who, despite running only two testing days with the team from Bergamo managed to keep the three Prema Powerteam's drivers behind him for the entire race. Fourth was the Frenchman of Ferrari Driver Academy, Brandon Maisano, who crossed the finish line proceeding his team mates at Prema, Henrique Martins and Eddie Cheever. The Brazilian rookie kept therefore the leadership in the classification with 42 points and is followed by the American driver Eddie Cheever just two points behind. The third position is currently occupied by Brandon Maisano.

Seventh at the chequered flag was Robert Visoiu (Ghinzani) who made a very good overtaking manoeuvre to Riccardo Agostini (JD Motorsport) during lap seven. Yoshitaka Kuroda (Euronova) ended the pack of 7 drivers finishing all within 5 seconds, from the third to the ninth position, while the tenth place went to Mario Marasca (BVM), who was issued a drive through penalty as he put out of the race his team mate Nicholas Latifi at the end of the main straight.

The fastest lap of the race was set by Patric Niederhauser who is fifth in the rookies classification behind Henrique Martins, Sergey Sirotkin, Gerard Barrabeig and Riccardo Agostini.

The next round of the Italian Formula 3 European Series is scheduled for the 5 May in Budapest at Hungaroring, as supporting race of the WTCC.
Press review 2012
Championship presentation
ACI Sport S.p.A. a socio unico - Via Solferino, 32 - 00185 ROMA - Tel: 06 44341291 - Fax: 06 44341294 - P. IVA: 0630 140 1003